A run like no other.

Weekends are sacred for me, and I make sure that I spend most of Saturdays and Sundays on my bed, either catching up on sleep or watching series. However, on the 25th day of June 2017, I woke up at 2:30am, ate Greek yogurt with bits of granola bar, took a shower, brushed my teeth, packed some things, and left home at around 4am. While the whole town was still sleeping, I, on the other hand, was on my way to the most anticipated and quite unique fun run in Laguna— the Color Manila Challenge, Laguna Leg.

The call time was at 4:30am, and I arrived at the venue at exactly 4:30am. I waited for my friends who were still at the gasoline station at that time. While waiting, I walked around and observed the people who are participating in the event. I was surprised to see children as young as 8 years old (estimated age) getting ready and doing warm-ups with their parents. I like how Color Manila gives a chance for families and friends to bond.

IMG_9545

Look at the candy colored morning sky! I took this photo at around 5:30am. Before the start of the event, this was our backdrop. Isn’t it lovely?

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We did a five-minute warm-up with the other participants. The coach/trainer said that doing warm-ups before running or exercising is important so that our body won’t get “shocked”. We did some jumping jacks, hopping, and stretching. At around 5:40am, the participants gathered and grouped themselves according to their chosen category: 10K, 5K, and 3K. My friends and I signed up and registered at the 5K challenge.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Before the run

I could hear and feel my heart beating ten times faster than the usual, as we get ready for our turn. When we heard the gun start, we started running. Oh, that adrenaline rush! Unlike the other fun runs, Color Manila encourages the participants to take their time and have fun. There were stations where you will encounter some obstacles like showers, inflatable rings (where you’ll hop on the holes), inflatable slide with massive stairs, military crawl, and spider web. A handful of colored powder were thrown at us too as we go through the obstacles. Everyone was having the time of his/her lives at each station. Some participants took Instagram worthy photos and even played with the colored powders (throwing them like confetti).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
While waiting for our turn at the inflatable slide
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Taking a break at the spider web obstacle area

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
At the finish line

 

IMG_9566

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
My rubber shoes used to be white; now it is colorful.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Earned my first ever medal for running, 5k!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

To wrap up the event, a Color Festival took place. We received packets of colored powder, which will be thrown simultaneously in the air after a countdown. It created an explosion of colors, and it definitely was a visual feast.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetIMG_9567

 

I have never felt so accomplished and proud of myself when I reached the finish line! It was a fun and interesting experience. I am beyond happy that my friends and I ended the run with flying colors— literally and figuratively. 😉 Running is not my thing, but I’m glad I stepped out of my comfort zone, joined, and accepted the challenge. Last but not the least, running even becomes more memorable if done with the people who are special to you.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

