The best birthday gift.

On the day after my birthday, I went to San Pablo City in Laguna to help my friend, Inah, in her advocacy. I remember telling her months ago that I have always wanted to join an outreach program outside school, but there’s no opportunity. So when she messaged me a week before the event, I said yes without any hesitations.

IMG_2222

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
That’s my friend, Inah, talking to the teenagers from one of the schools in San Pablo, Laguna.

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

It feels good to share my thoughts and ideas to children and teenagers about the importance and benefits of reading. Looking at the sparkling eyes of the kids upon seeing the books are totally priceless!

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 preset

Before going home, I overheard one little girl asking if she could bring one book home. The group of teenagers, on the other hand, was so excited to see The Diary of Anne Frank inside the box. Way to go, kids!

Through participating in this event, I have formed a sense of fulfillment. I’d like to think that I have found one of my missions in this world too. As an educator, it is my duty to promote love for reading to children people of all ages. It’s never too late! I realized that sometimes I need to step out of my comfort zone so I could truly do something (not just, for example, donate) to make a difference. That I have the ability to influence the younger generation— I just have to act on it.

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 preset

Additional reflection: Going to the “battle field” gives us the learning experiences that will help us grow and be better individuals. It opens up our eyes and makes us see a much wider horizon.

I thank God for letting me experience this. The long drive is worth it! I may be tired from driving from one school to another and helping the other volunteers carry the books to and fro, but my heart, for sure, is happy. This is definitely one of my life’s highlights this year.

And yes, it is the best birthday gift I have given myself ever.

/Photos taken on the 14th day of October, 2017/

/Location: San Pablo City, Laguna/

 

Leave a comment